Boys soccer: 2022 Express-News All-Area teams

Editor’s note: The Players of the Year will be announced at an awards banquet on June 1st. The finalists are awarded here.

Brad Diddy

School: Smithson Valley

Position, grade: Forward, senior

Remarkable: Scored 45 goals…District 27-6A Forward of the Year…Texas Association of Soccer Coaches (TASCO) 6A All-State…Signed UNC-Charlotte.

Jason Sukow

School: Reagan

Position, grade: Midfielder, older

Remarkable: Reported 15 assists and nine goals…District 28-6A MVP…TASCO 6A All-State…Signed with Loyola (Chicago).

Sam Theiss

School: Borne

Position, grade: Forward/Midfielder, Senior

Remarkable: Scored 51 goals and 19 assists… District 26-4A MVP… UIL State Class 4A All-Tournament Team… Committed to San Diego.


Michael Stark

School: Borne

Highlights: The Greyhounds (27-2-1) won back-to-back Class 4A state titles. … Boerne beat Celina 2-1 in overtime to win his third state title.

Also considered for the EN award: Reagan’s Gilbert Villarreal, Sam Houston’s Aaron Yates


Greydn Richards

School: Harlan

Position, grade: Forward, newcomer

Remarkable: Scored 14 goals and three assists…District 29-6A All-District.


Brad Diddy

Smithson Valley Senior Forward: Player of the Year Finalist

Checkout Dilworth

Clemens, junior, defender/midfielder: Scored 14 goals and three assists…Lead defense that recorded 11 shutouts…TASCO All-State.

Rafael Javalera

Johnson, senior, midfielder: Scored 10 goals and seven assists… District 28-6A midfield MVP… Signed with Tulsa.

Julian Leon

Southwest, older, forward: Scored 37 goals and 18 assists… District 28-5A MVP two straight seasons… TASCO All-Region

Landon Murphy

Boerne, senior, midfielder: Scored 23 goals and 35 assists…District 26-4A Midfielder of the Year…UIL State Class 4A All-Tournament Team.

Tomas Olivares

Harlan, senior, defense attorney: District 29-6A Defenseman of the Year…On the field defensive leader for a team that has conceded 10 goals this season…Signed with OLLU.

Dominik Pena

Harlan, junior, goalkeeper: District 29-6A Goaltender of the Year…Allowed seven goals and had a .35 GAA…TASCO 6A All-State.

Zachary Roberts

Antonianus, second-year student, defense attorney: Scored 13 goals and 17 assists… TAPPS First Team All-State.

Jason Sukow

Reagan, senior, midfielder: Player of the Year Finalist

Pato Tenorio

Reagan, Senior, Forward: Scored 20 goals to lead the team…District 28-6A Forward MVP…TASCO 6A All-State…Signed with Texas A&M-San Antonio.

Sam Theiss

Boerne, senior, striker: Player of the Year Finalist

Class 6A

Checkout Dilworth: Clemens Jr.

Brad Diddy: Smithson Valley, Sr.

Efren Duarte: Marshal, Sr.

Rafael Javalera: Johnson, Sr.

Tomas Olivares: Harlan, Sr.

Sean Mattivi: Reagan Jr.

Dominik Pena: Harlan Jr.

Clever Sibomana: Roosevelt, Sr.

Jason Sukow: Reagan, Sr.

Pato Tenorio: Reagan Sr.

Oscar Valencia: Harlan Jr.

Class 5A

Jesus Aranda: Southwest Legacy, Jr.

Wilton Avila: Sam Houston Jr.

Sergio Bustos novel: McCollum, Sr.

Joshua Konrad: New Braunfels Canyon, Sr.

Leave a Comment