Big Ten Announces Baseball All-Big Ten Honors and Individual Award Winners

ROSEMONT, Ill.– The Big Ten on Tuesday announced the 2022 baseball individual awards winners and the All-Big Ten teams selected by the conference coaches. Maryland Chris Alleyne was named Iowa’s Big Ten Player of the Year Adam Mazur received the Pitcher of the Year award, Hawkeyes’ Keaton Anthony claimed freshman of the year recognition and the Terrapins head coach Rob Vaughn was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Alleyne becomes the first Maryland standout to receive Big Ten Player of the Year honors. As an outfielder for the Terrapins, Alleyne leads the team in hits (79), RBI (73), and home runs (22) while he ranks second in runs (67) and slugging percentage (1,333).

Mazur is the second Iowa hurler to win Big Ten Pitcher of the Year honors and the second in as many years. In 55.2 innings, the right-handed starter is currently beating the Big Ten with wins (5) and ERA (2.59).

Anthony is the second Iowa player to receive Big Ten Freshman of the Year recognition and the first since 1994. The pitcher leads the Hawkeyes in batting average (.363), OPS (1.131), RBI (52) and home runs ( 13) on. , while he ranks second in hits (66) and runs (42).

Vaughn was named Big Ten Coach of the Year, becoming the first Maryland head coach to receive the honor. The Terps earned first place after winning that season’s 44-10, the program’s best regular season in program history, and the overall Big Ten championship.

The Big Ten also announced the winners of the Sportsmanship Award from each institution. The selected students are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical conduct. These students must also be of good academic standing and have demonstrated civic citizenship outside of athletic competition.

The full list of All-Big Ten teams and award winners is below.

Player of the Year:
Chris Alleyne, Maryland
Pitcher of the Year: Adam Mazur, Iowa
Newcomer of the Year: Keaton Anthony, Iowa
Coach of the Year: Rob Vaughn, Maryland

All Big Ten First Team

C—Matt Wood, Pennsylvania
1B—Peyton Williams, Iowa
2B—Kevin Keister, Maryland
SS—Danny DiGeorgio, Rutgers
3B—Nick Lorusso, Maryland
BY—Chris Alleyne, Maryland
BY—Clark Elliott, Michigan
BY – Ryan Lasko, Rutgers
SP—Adam Mazur, Iowa
SP—Ryan Ramsey, Maryland
SP—Jason Savacool, Maryland
RP—Dale Stanavich, Rutgers
DH—CJ Valdez, Purdue
Overall – Matt Shaw, Maryland

All Big Ten Second Team

C – Nick Cimillo, Rutgers
1B—Justin Janas, Illinois
2B – Patrick Herrera, Northwest
SS – Zach Dezenzo, Ohio State
3B—Branden Comia, Illinois
OV—Cam McDonald, Illinois
OV—Keaton Anthony, Iowa
OV – Ethan O’Donnell, Northwest
SP – Cole Kirschsieper, Illinois
SP—Emmett Olson, Nebraska
SP – Jared Kollar, Rutgers
RP—Ben Sac, Iowa
DH—Josh Spiegel, Penn State
Generally – Luke Shliger, Maryland

All Big Ten Third Team*

C—Matthew Ellis, Indiana
1B—Chris Brito, Rutgers
2B – Josh Kuroda-Grauer, Rutgers
SS – Mitch Jebb, Michigan State
3B—Matt Frey, Michigan
OV—Troy Schreffler Jr., Maryland
BY—Joe Stewart, Michigan
OV – Danny Doligale, Illinois
SP—Jackson Smeltz, Purdue
SP—Nathan Florence, Rutgers
SP—Nick Dean, Maryland
RP – Kyle Bischoff, Michigan State
DH—Maxwell Costes, Maryland
General – Marcus Ernst, Ohio State
General – Kade Kern, Ohio State

All Big Ten Freshman Team

C – Bryan Broecker, Michigan State
1B—Brock Tibbitts, Indiana
2B – Josh Kuroda-Grauer, Rutgers
SS—Evan Goforth, Indiana
3B—Josh Pyne, Indiana
OV—Keaton Anthony, Iowa
OV—Carter Mathison, Indiana
OF – Trey Lipsey, Ohio State
SP – Sean Sullivan, Northwest
SP – Ryan Szczepaniak, Michigan State
SP—Troy Wansing, Purdue
RP—Brody Brecht, Iowa
DH—Anthony Steele, Penn State
General—Garrett Anglim, Nebraska

Sportsmanship Award
Taylor Jackson, Illinois
Tyler Doanes, Indiana
Brendan Sher, Iowa
James Heffley, Maryland
Matt Frey, Michigan
Zach Iverson, Michigan State
Andrew Wilhite, Minnesota
Brice Matthews, Nebraska
Mike Doherty, Northwest
Brent Tods, Ohio State
Mason Mellott, Penn State
Gerber Haston, Purdue
Brad Norton, Rutgers

*Additional award winners due to ties

Leave a Comment